Utzon

Jorn Utzon: Drawings and Buildings
Abrams & Chronicle Books
EUR 28,99
Jorn Utzon received worldwide fame as the architect of the Sydney Opera House, but his much larger body of work has a breadth and depth that is of great importance for modern architectural history. And yet, little is known of his work outside of academic architectural circles. Arguably the most important Danish architect of the twentieth century, Utzon pioneered the movement for modern architecture to reconnect with its particular place and time without abandoning the techniques and materials that made it accessible to larger audiences. Modernism, for Utzon, didn't need to sacrifice particularity and local character in order to retain relevance and his widely varied work around the globe--from the National Assembly in Kuwait to the Bagsvaerd Church in Denmark and of course the Opera House in Sydney--is a testament to this approach's success. This book is a collection of these successes, told thematically so that Utzon's integral approach and lasting effects might be understood for what they are--at once particular and universal.
Jørn Utzon
Verlag Anton Pustet Salzburg
EUR 26,80
Broschiertes Buch"Die Publikation stellt eindrucksvoll die wichtigsten Bauten und Projekte des dänischen Architekten (und Erbauers der Oper von Sydney) Jørn Utzon vor. [.] Insgesamt wird die ansprechende Präsentation der einzelnen Projekte mit zahlreichen Fotos, Plänen, Skizzen und präzise verfassten Erläuterungen veranschaulicht." Quelle: Detail Mit Beiträgen von Kenneth Frampton, Rafael Moneo, Nils-Ole Lund und Enrique Sobejano
Jorn Utzon - Houses
Living Architecture
EUR 31,26
Jorn Utzon is best known as the architect of the Sydney Opera House, probably the world's most famous modern building and arguably the twentieth century's boldest, most important and impressive work of architecture. All his works - both the large and famous and the small and private - with their brilliant simplicity and honest originality, are masterpieces of twentieth-century architecture.This book presents all of Utzon's buildings in more than 400 outstanding color photographs taken by architecture photographer Per Nagel over a period of twenty-five years. Architect Vibe Udsen reviews each building and architecture critic Henrik Sten Moller presents a portrait of Jorn Utzon the man and the architect.
Jørn Utzon : conversaciones y otros escritos (Conversaciones Con...)
Editorial Gustavo Gili, S.L.
EUR 17,51
Rare Book
The Edge of the Possible DVD (Jorn Utzon, Daryl Dellora, Sue Maslin)

Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$Manufacturer in /var/www/vhosts/lvps176-28-10-162.dedicated.hosteurope.de/heimwerkermarken/t/content.php on line 141

EUR 77,98
Architecture in Detail: Sydney Opera House - Jorn Utzon
Phaidon Press
EUR 16,95
Sydney Opera House (1957-73) is one of the best-known buildings of the late twentieth century and perhaps Australia's most potent landmark, its white shell-like forms inextricably linked with the image of Sydney itself. A momentous breakthrough for the architecture of its time, Jorn Utzon's building remains monumental in contemporary world architecture across the world. Launched in 1991, the Architecture in Detail series attracted immediate acclaim and now comprises more than 60 titles. These books are highly collectable documents, each focusing in depth on a celebrated building. The series covers all sides of the vast spectrum of architecture from the past, present and future; the individual buildings are selected for their exceptional character, innovative design or technical virtuosity. Each volume contains a definitive text by a respected author; a sequence of color and black-and-white photographs; a series of technical drawings; and a set of essential working details. These titles are vital to every architectural library, appealing to the professional and student alike, or indeed anyone with an appreciation of buildings.
Shell: A Novel (English Edition)
Atria Books
“A luminous look at a city at a time of change, a time when the building of the Sydney Opera House was a reach for greatness.” —The New York Times In this spellbinding and poignant historical novel—perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Flamethrowers—a Swedish glassmaker and a fiercely independent Australian journalist are thrown together amidst the turmoil of the 1960s and the dawning of a new modern era. 1965: As the United States becomes further embroiled in the Vietnam War, the ripple effects are far-reaching—even to the other side of the world. In Australia, a national military draft has been announced and Pearl Keogh, a headstrong and ambitious newspaper reporter, has put her job in jeopardy to become involved in the anti-war movement. Desperate to locate her two runaway brothers before they’re called to serve, Pearl is also hiding a secret shame—the guilt she feels for not doing more for her younger siblings after their mother’s untimely death. Newly arrived from Sweden, Axel Lindquist is set to work as a sculptor on the besieged Sydney Opera House. After a childhood in Europe, where the shadow of WWII loomed large, he seeks to reinvent himself in this utterly foreign landscape, and finds artistic inspiration—and salvation—in the monument to modernity that is being constructed on Sydney’s Harbor. But as the nation hurtles towards yet another war, Jørn Utzon, the Opera House’s controversial architect, is nowhere to be found—and Axel fears that the past he has tried to outrun may be catching up with him. As the seas of change swirl around them, Pearl and Axel’s lives orbit each other and collide in this sweeping novel of art and culture, love and destiny.
Jorn Utzon: Drawings and Buildings
Abrams & Chronicle Books
EUR 28,99
Jorn Utzon received worldwide fame as the architect of the Sydney Opera House, but his much larger body of work has a breadth and depth that is of great importance for modern architectural history. And yet, little is known of his work outside of academic architectural circles. Arguably the most important Danish architect of the twentieth century, Utzon pioneered the movement for modern architecture to reconnect with its particular place and time without abandoning the techniques and materials that made it accessible to larger audiences. Modernism, for Utzon, didn't need to sacrifice particularity and local character in order to retain relevance and his widely varied work around the globe--from the National Assembly in Kuwait to the Bagsvaerd Church in Denmark and of course the Opera House in Sydney--is a testament to this approach's success. This book is a collection of these successes, told thematically so that Utzon's integral approach and lasting effects might be understood for what they are--at once particular and universal.
Jørn Utzon
Verlag Anton Pustet Salzburg
EUR 26,80
Broschiertes Buch"Die Publikation stellt eindrucksvoll die wichtigsten Bauten und Projekte des dänischen Architekten (und Erbauers der Oper von Sydney) Jørn Utzon vor. [.] Insgesamt wird die ansprechende Präsentation der einzelnen Projekte mit zahlreichen Fotos, Plänen, Skizzen und präzise verfassten Erläuterungen veranschaulicht." Quelle: Detail Mit Beiträgen von Kenneth Frampton, Rafael Moneo, Nils-Ole Lund und Enrique Sobejano
Jorn Utzon - Houses
Living Architecture
EUR 31,26
Jorn Utzon is best known as the architect of the Sydney Opera House, probably the world's most famous modern building and arguably the twentieth century's boldest, most important and impressive work of architecture. All his works - both the large and famous and the small and private - with their brilliant simplicity and honest originality, are masterpieces of twentieth-century architecture.This book presents all of Utzon's buildings in more than 400 outstanding color photographs taken by architecture photographer Per Nagel over a period of twenty-five years. Architect Vibe Udsen reviews each building and architecture critic Henrik Sten Moller presents a portrait of Jorn Utzon the man and the architect.
Jørn Utzon : conversaciones y otros escritos (Conversaciones Con...)
Editorial Gustavo Gili, S.L.
EUR 17,51
Rare Book
The Edge of the Possible DVD (Jorn Utzon, Daryl Dellora, Sue Maslin)

Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$Manufacturer in /var/www/vhosts/lvps176-28-10-162.dedicated.hosteurope.de/heimwerkermarken/t/content.php on line 141

EUR 77,98
Architecture in Detail: Sydney Opera House - Jorn Utzon
Phaidon Press
EUR 16,95
Sydney Opera House (1957-73) is one of the best-known buildings of the late twentieth century and perhaps Australia's most potent landmark, its white shell-like forms inextricably linked with the image of Sydney itself. A momentous breakthrough for the architecture of its time, Jorn Utzon's building remains monumental in contemporary world architecture across the world. Launched in 1991, the Architecture in Detail series attracted immediate acclaim and now comprises more than 60 titles. These books are highly collectable documents, each focusing in depth on a celebrated building. The series covers all sides of the vast spectrum of architecture from the past, present and future; the individual buildings are selected for their exceptional character, innovative design or technical virtuosity. Each volume contains a definitive text by a respected author; a sequence of color and black-and-white photographs; a series of technical drawings; and a set of essential working details. These titles are vital to every architectural library, appealing to the professional and student alike, or indeed anyone with an appreciation of buildings.
Shell: A Novel (English Edition)
Atria Books
“A luminous look at a city at a time of change, a time when the building of the Sydney Opera House was a reach for greatness.” —The New York Times In this spellbinding and poignant historical novel—perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Flamethrowers—a Swedish glassmaker and a fiercely independent Australian journalist are thrown together amidst the turmoil of the 1960s and the dawning of a new modern era. 1965: As the United States becomes further embroiled in the Vietnam War, the ripple effects are far-reaching—even to the other side of the world. In Australia, a national military draft has been announced and Pearl Keogh, a headstrong and ambitious newspaper reporter, has put her job in jeopardy to become involved in the anti-war movement. Desperate to locate her two runaway brothers before they’re called to serve, Pearl is also hiding a secret shame—the guilt she feels for not doing more for her younger siblings after their mother’s untimely death. Newly arrived from Sweden, Axel Lindquist is set to work as a sculptor on the besieged Sydney Opera House. After a childhood in Europe, where the shadow of WWII loomed large, he seeks to reinvent himself in this utterly foreign landscape, and finds artistic inspiration—and salvation—in the monument to modernity that is being constructed on Sydney’s Harbor. But as the nation hurtles towards yet another war, Jørn Utzon, the Opera House’s controversial architect, is nowhere to be found—and Axel fears that the past he has tried to outrun may be catching up with him. As the seas of change swirl around them, Pearl and Axel’s lives orbit each other and collide in this sweeping novel of art and culture, love and destiny.